Works of Kalidasa, (Volume 2: Poetry), (Sixth Edition)

By: C.R. Devadhar (Ed.)

Price: $44.00

Quantity: 500 available

Book Condition: New

This volume contains five Kavyas of Kalidasa: Srngaratilaka, Rtusamhara, Meghaduta, Kumarasambhava and Raghuvamsa. Srngaratilaka and Rtusamhara display the poetic imagination of his early youth. The Meghaduta is the work of his advanced years. The Kumarasambhava and Raghuvamsa are the works of his mature age. His Kavyas are praised for the happy choice of his subjects, for his illustrations derived from nature and human life. In this volume the text is followed by English translation. Each and every Kavya is prefixed with an English Introduction or an Editorial Note. The general introduction has been incorporated in the Introduction to the text of RAghuvamsa to which notes are added to discuss the passages where the commentators differ in their interpretations.Printed Pages: 1477.

Title: Works of Kalidasa, (Volume 2: Poetry), (Sixth Edition)

Author Name: C.R. Devadhar (Ed.)

Categories: India, Literature,

Edition: Sixth Edition

Publisher: New Delhi, India, Motilal Banarsidass Publishers Pvt. Ltd.: 2010

ISBN: 8120800249

ISBN 13: 9788120800243

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: New

Jacket Condition: New

Seller ID: 102611

Keywords: Works of Kalidasa, (Volume 2: Poetry), (Sixth Edition) C.R. Devadhar (Ed.)