Temple Architecture of Orissa

By: Dr N.C. Panda & Dr K.M. Suresh (Authors)

Price: $92.00

Quantity: 500 available

Book Condition: New

The Orissan temple architecture ranging from seventh century to thirteenth century A. D., however corresponds to an altogether different category for their unique representations called Kalingan style of temple architecture. Though, broadly they come under the Northern or Nagara style, they have certain special features which are uniquely their own. The Orissan temples are of three types, viz. (i) Rekha Deula, (ii) Khakhara Deula, and (iii) Pidha or Bhadra Deula. The temples of Orissa exhibit a majestic grandeur. An Orissan temple (deula) usually consists of a sanctum, one or several front porches (jagamahana) usually with pyramidal roofs, a dancing hall (Nata-mandira) and a hall of offerings, i.e. bhoga-mandira.This book mainly contains three chapters. The first chapter speaks about the temples of Bhubaneswar. The second chapter describes the temples of Puri and the third chapter elaborates the features and importance of Konark Sun temple in detail. However, the book aims at studying the Architectural aspect of the Orissan temple. The students, scholars and the general readers may get detail information about the various temples of Orissa.

Title: Temple Architecture of Orissa

Author Name: Dr N.C. Panda & Dr K.M. Suresh (Authors)

Categories: India, Architecture,

Publisher: Delhi, India, Bharatiya Kala Prakashan: 2014

ISBN: 8180903273

ISBN 13: 9788180903274

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: New

Jacket Condition: New

Seller ID: 110604

Keywords: Temple Architecture of Orissa Dr N.C. Panda & Dr K.M. Suresh (Authors)